October 2022

21

Not sure what to do with this Markdown pastebin thing but its interesting to play around with.

I'm getting more into short film and short film fests. I'm going through the PBS 2021 film fesitval, a lot of great stuff available freely online. I want to make a zine about it eventually.

Shortverse looks interesting, I hope it takes off.

17

Been a while. Returned from a regional zine fest and was tired after. I'm out of shape I guess. Slept a lot the day, day after and am just starting to recover. Still kept the weight off, even when taking a calorie counting break during the weekend (very hard to count when eating at non-chain places). I kept it reasonable however. 

I haven't gone through most of the zines I purchased. I skimmed just through one. I am trying to organize more so it will be a bit of a project to organize and file these along with going through them.

12

Its been awhile. I've dropped down 1.5 pants size and am really proud of myself. Now to keep it off and lose more.

Zine event this weekend. I'm 99% done with the zines I want to trade with. But my printer won't print the sticker title. Feeling the anxiety. But also excited. I hope to make some future zine pals.

I am not going into the office this week, maybe next week as a teammate has covid. Also things may go down regarding the team. But honestly either way I've decided I need to move on. Not right away but I can't see myself in this position for 30 more years. To be honest I struggle to see myself there 5 years from now.

I've paused on data science learning and focused on accounting. I'm not sure if I can be an account but I signed up for the Quickbooks bookkeeping certificate course so here I go. I am in the first of four weeks. Will probably be done tomorrow. Its weird how suddenly motivated I am.


6

I've been really thinking a lot about my life and where I am going. Its a bit different at mid 30s. I'm trying a lot of new things...

I am looking into kabaddi on and off. I think the big thing is looking for something with English speaking commentators or some subtitles. That way I can learn more about the sport as I go. I found an older podcast that is no longer updted but I will give it a listen at work and see what happens. Hoping it can give me some insight.

More productive wise, I've been looking into learning accounting and data science. I'm not sure what one I will eventually gravitate too or maybe I can do both? Right now I am just listening/watching stuff that explains the basic terminology so I have a long way to go. But I am hitting the point where my salary won't go much higher and it ends up being a liability, especially in the future. I guess I'm also thinking about how I'm at the mercy of the corporation and want a little more control over my future. This would be a slight switch. I don't think I can advance more 

I'm hitting an energetic productive mood, which is good. That said I am not looking forward to the crash. 

Its nearing a month since my 1600 cal a day meal plan. People say I lost a little bit of weight. I hope so but I'm trying to remain patient as I'm usually not. I workoout about 2/3 times a week. It'd be a lot better if I tried on the weekend. Nothing crazy but I do work up a sweat. It will be hard to maintain this momentum once I go to a hybrid work environment, which starts next week.

On the back end I'm mostly finished with a dual mobile/laptop layout. I might launch it before I've transferred all of the old content. I don't know how to organize links or maybe just go back to date stuff.

I'm almost done with a zine. More cutting and pasting. The zine fest is two weekends away and I'm freaking out a bit.

I just sent out my first penpal letter and am on my way to making a second, a response one! This is really fun!


3

Yesterday I felt awful. I slept a good chunk of the day. Dizzy and having weird hot flashes. I'm feeling a bit better but also a bit shit.

The day was over now. Difficult and lots of work but I feel accomplished. Also in a much better mood.

My head still hurts. I'm thinking of some tea. 

I meant to move the links out of the diary, but I still don't know how to organize it. Bleh.

High-tech mid-life crisis. Who is Hohokam? - fun personal site

soweli! - a fun personal site with generators, a plant diary, plant articles, etc


1

I've finished the first season of The Morose Mononokean. Its really grown on me. I love the designs and the season finale was adorable. I've moved onto the second season which isn't dubbed. The audio switch was weird but not bad. 

I'm watching the dub of Aoashi. Its interesting as my partner is here to clarify things (he is a sports guy).

I got my library card so I'm getting graphic novels and manga again. I started Drifting Dragons and really like it. Its fantasy dragon hunting in skyships with foodie appeal and subtle characterization. I also need to catch up Witch Hat Atelier, Radiant and Delicious in Dungeon.

Also they are translating Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou into 5 volumes so I bought the first one. It was amazing. Very chill.

I guess a lot of minor things have been happening. I've been working on a joint mobile/laptop responsive site wit the sadgrl layout maker. It was such a pain making both. So that is taking time. Its currently not up yet. Maybe by the weekend?

I finished my first penpal letter. I just need to envelope, stamp and send it out. I'm very excited. I'm also very likely to receive one in my PO BOX. I will be making a penpal zine for this site and itch.io to hopefully gain some interest. And also some copies to hand out for a zine fest. I am also making another zine about marginalized/oppressed people doing things and making art. I'm both excited and nervous.

I was really inspired by Rich's video regarding preserving working class art, especially zines. My zine will sort of be my way to both preserve and contribute.

Speaking of zine videos, Wes put out another fun video. 

I'm minorly bummed out about work. I feel selfish when so many are struggling but sometimes I wish I had a job I was passionate about and could connect with coworkers about a common goal and passion. Would I be more motivated? Its not that I'm not trying, I think? I think I still do good work but who knows. It feels like we get nagged a lot about it and sometimes I'm not the best at sussing things out.